A Visual Recipe for Roasted Red Pepper and Tomato Sauce

Today I would like to talk about staple foods. Like Sunday morning routines or favourite TV shows, each family have their own. It can be a hearty pot of stew, prepared during the weekly batch cooking, and reserved for quick weekday suppers, or something as simple as a favourite breakfast cereal.  Staple food is one of the few stable things in chaotic family lives. Or, at least, it is in ours.

In my previous post, I was talking about homemade pesto, and how we use it in absolutely everything. Another one of those magic condiments you will always find in our fridge is slow roasted red pepper and tomato sauce. This sweet and smoky sauce has been a life saver on more occasions than I can count! I made it into refreshing soups, and let me tell you, when garnished with some crumbled feta, fresh herbs (or pesto!), with a slice of homemade sourdough on the side, it makes an impressive impromptu lunch for friends dropping by. I also poured it over countless bowls of pasta, with some grated cheddar on top, to fill many hungry little bellies. It also works well as a salad dressing, lasagne filling, or any kind of bake for that matter. You get the idea, it is versatile. So I usually make a big batch which I keep in a jar, ready to be used at a moment’s notice.

DSC_0623

On a different note, I have been really busy for the last few weeks practicing my photography skills. It is my new obsession and I just can’t believe that I have been an owner of a DSLR camera for the past seven years (it was gifted to me by my wonderful husband) and only discovered manual mode now.

I have been taking shots of anything edible ever since, driving my family crazy! I have always been attracted to pops of colour against black background, hence most of my clothes are shot on black chalkboard. This love of contrast naturally translated into my food photography style.

Another factor that contributed to the overall ‘dark’ effect was our famous Irish weather. It has been raining for the last week, which I originally thought would hinder my ability to take good photographs. But I discovered that bright light doesn’t suit my aesthetic at all, so it worked out well.

Now I just need to practice, practice, practice. And read a lot of manuals. And cook and eat. Yum.

So, if you are still with me, here is how I make our roasted pepper and tomato sauce. It is honestly so simple that I think my images say it all, no need for further words.

Blackboard food photography. Dark food photography. Roasted tomato and pepper sauce.DSC_0617DSC_0623DSC_0634DSC_0635DSC_0639

Happy Midweek Everyone!

Merlixa

5 thoughts on “A Visual Recipe for Roasted Red Pepper and Tomato Sauce

Leave a Reply

