Scottish lamb broth with buckwheat and seasonal vegetables. Irish Food Blog.

Scottish Lamb Broth with Buckwheat and Seasonal Veg

As it often happens, we had some leftovers from our Sunday roast leg of lamb. I love Sunday roast leftovers almost as much as I love the actual dinner. The possibilities! With lamb they were, for a long time, mostly wasted as there was never enough left for a second dinner, so the bone was usually gnawed on by a hungry family member the next day, or forgotten about and discarded a few days later. I know, the waste.

That is, until I discovered the mighty Scottish lamb broth from Jamie Oliver’s book, Save with Jamie. So here we were, on Monday afternoon, and as I was eyeing up the bone, ready to transform it into a simmering pot of satisfying, soul warming goodness,  I realised I don’t have any of the ingredients to make my beloved recipe. No barley, no cabbage, no peas, no squash.

‘Ok’, I thought, ‘think. This is an opportunity to come up with your own version of the Scottish Broth. What’s there to lose? We can always have scrambled eggs for dinner if it turns out a horrible mess.’ So I scanned my pantry (tiny cupboard in the corner of the kitchen), checked the vegetable box, and this is what happened.

I used buckwheat instead of barley and I loved it. I used kale instead of cabbage, why not, it is all the same, as my husband says. I replaced the sweetness of peas with corn, and used mushrooms to give the broth its chunkiness in the place of squash.

I am not saying it turned out better than the original, but I honestly, I think it is up there. It certainly warmed our bellies and our hearts. This time, I am including a recipe too.

Scottish lamb broth with buckwheat and seasonal vegetables.Scottish lamb broth with buckwheat and seasonal vegetables. Irish Food Blog.

Scottish lamb broth with buckwheat and seasonal vegetables. Irish Food Blog.Scottish lamb broth with buckwheat and seasonal vegetables. Irish Food Blog.

Served 2 adults and 2 hungry toddlers. Twice.

Ingredients:

  1. Leftover leg of lamb, bone and meat (about 150g)
  2. 1 chicken stock cube or use the drippings from the roast instead
  3. 200g buckwheat, cooked according to packet instructions
  4. 200g of chestnut mushrooms
  5. 3 carrots
  6. 200g potatoes
  7. A good bunch of kale
  8. 100g of cooked corn, crumbled
  9. Fresh mint, to garnish.

Method: 

  1. Simmer the lamb bone, shredded meat, and stock in 3 litres of water for 1 hour. Make sure to skim the surface regularly.
  2. Meanwhile, quarter and sauté the mushrooms in olive oil until slightly browned.
  3. Peel and chop the carrots and potatoes into cubes, add to the broth together with sautéed mushrooms. Simmer for another 20 minutes.
  4. When the carrots and potatoes are almost done, add the cooked corn, cooked buckwheat, and the chopped kale. Simmer for another 5 minutes.
  5. Garnish with fresh mint, and serve.

Tip: It is a good idea to cook a whole packet of soup grains such as buckwheat, barley, or soup mix, and freeze in small portions, ready to go.

Have a good (almost) midweek!

Merlixa

Scottish lamb broth with buckwheat and seasonal vegetables. Irish Food Blog.

Leave a Reply

